Pearson BTEC

Level 3 Extended Diploma in Business and Information Technology

Book your Free Counselling Session Now!

I agree to the privacy policy.

About Pearson

Pearson is the world’s leading learning company, with 24,000 employees in more than 70 countries working to help people of all ages make measurable progress through learning. We put the learner at the centre of everything we do, because wherever learning flourishes, so do people.

Alongside A levels, BTEC Nationals are the most widely recognized qualification for admission to higher education. They are level 3 vocational qualifications that provide specialist, work-related learning across a range of sectors. BTEC Nationals are designed to equip students with the specialist knowledge, practical skills, and understanding they need to progress along their chosen learning and career paths.

BTEC Nationals are career-based qualifications designed to give students the skills they need to move on to higher education or go straight into employment. More employers and higher education institutions than ever before are choosing BTEC-qualified candidates for their academic and practical knowledge and skills.

Introduction: Pearson BTEC Level 3 Nationals Qualification

BTEC Level 3 Nationals are vocational qualifications providing specialist, work-related learning across a range of sectors. They have been developed in consultation with employers, universities and professional bodies and all have employability firmly at their heart. BTEC Level 3 Nationals qualifications:

  • Can be taken either as the main focus of study or as part of a wider program alongside other Level 3 qualifications such as A Levels
  • Offer learners the practical industry skills, knowledge and confidence they will need to progress to further or higher education, to employment or to an apprenticeship.
  • Attract UCAS points in the same way as A Levels and are widely recognized and accepted by universities and employers.

How does the qualification provide employability skills?

In the BTEC National units there are opportunities during the teaching and learning phase to give learners practice in developing employability skills. Where employability skills are referred to in this specification, we are generally referring to skills in the following three main categories:

  • cognitive and problem-solving skills: use critical thinking, approach non-routine problems applying expert and creative solutions, use systems and technology
  • Intrapersonal skills: communicating, working collaboratively, negotiating and influencing, self-presentation
  • interpersonal skills: self-management, adaptability and resilience, self-monitoring and development.


Pearson BTEC International Level 3 Extended Diploma in Business

The Pearson BTEC Level 3 National Extended Diploma in Business is an Applied General qualification. It is for post-16 learners who want to continue their education through applied learning. It is equivalent in size to three A Levels and has been designed as a full two-year programme. Learners who wish to take this qualification will have successfully completed a Level 2 programme of learning with GCSEs or vocational qualifications. The qualification aims to provide a wide-ranging study of the sector. It is primarily designed for learners studying full time in the 16–19 age group, who wish to pursue a career in business, primarily via higher education to access graduate entry employment with businesses, or alternatively through junior business employment.

What could these qualifications lead to?

BThe qualification carries UCAS points and is recognised by higher education providers as contributing to meeting admission requirements to many relevant courses, for example:
Guided Learning Hours (GLH)
1080 GLH Equivalent in size to three International A Levels. 15 units of which six are Mandatory and three are assessed using a Pearson Set Assignment. Mandatory content (50%).

Pearson BTEC International Level 3 Diploma in Information Technology

Designed as a one-year, full-time course, covering the fundamentals in the information technology sector, which supports progression to a work-based learning qualification in the IT sector, and/or a further year of study at Level 3. It supports progression to higher education and employment opportunities if taken as part of a programme of study that includes other BTEC International Level 3 qualifications or International A Levels.

Who are these qualifications for?

The Pearson BTEC International Level 3 qualifications in Information Technology are designed for learners who are interested in the study of information technology, with a view to progressing to a range of graduate entry higher-education courses and/or working within the IT industry on completion of this qualification. Learners will have exposure to a wide range of IT topics that will enhance their progression to higher education in this sector, a complementary sector or a contrasting sector, and ultimately lead to employment.

What could these qualifications lead to?

These qualifications give learners the opportunity to progress to higher education to study a BTEC Higher National in Computing, a degree in an information technology discipline or a degree where information technology related skills and knowledge may be advantageous, such as business studies. They also support learners who want to develop knowledge and skills needed for vocational apprenticeship roles, and allow for progression to job opportunities at trainee/entry levels.
Jobs available in these areas include:
Size and Structure:
720 GLH Equivalent in size to two International A Levels. Two mandatory units that include a Pearson Set Assignment. Mandatory content (25%). Learners complete remaining optional units to the value of 540 GLH.
Need more information regarding Level 3 Extended Diploma in Business and Information Technology?

Book your Free Counselling Session Now!

I agree to the privacy policy.